Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Basic QlikView Syntax

Hello all,

I'm quite new to QlikView and it still takes me a hugh effort to get the basic syntax done. Does anyone has kind of a syntax overview for the basic things?

Here are my problems (and I think they are so easy to answer for you)

1.) I need to know how to create a query with a condition, regardless what other selections are made, like --- Sum(Units) if Year = 2009--- Im getting so frustrated that either I need to select 2009 to see a result or I see the result and whenever I select someting else it changes. I need to store it in a variable to be able to calculate with it..so it should not change.

Then I would like to be able to combine static and dynamic, like sum(units) if Segment = "xy" and Year = {} (I should be able to select the year in the list box.

If I would get a solution for this it would really help!

2.) I was wondering whether I can have 2 list boxes with the same content but independent from each other. I need to store selections in 2 variables based on the same list box. Like variable1 = Salesman1 from list box Salesman and variable2 = Salesman 10 from list box salesman. Is it possible to tell qlikview..what is the first and what the second selection...

There is much more to ask but If you guys could help me with that I would be very happy!

Regards

Tom

9 Replies
Not applicable
Author

Hi Thomas,

Pls correct me if i understood your problem correctly.

1. Your first questions is - Irregardless of any selection you want to display the no of units only for the year 2009. If it soo then you can make use of SET Analysis --> Sum({1<YEAR={2009}>} Units)

2. I couldn't able to get your 2nd point. Pls be clear what you want to achieve (end result).

Regards

Rajesh

Not applicable
Author

Hi Rajesh,

thanks for the answer, will try out immediately.