Skip to main content
Announcements
See what Drew Clarke has to say about the Qlik Talend Cloud launch! READ THE BLOG
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Calculating new Field problem

Hi Everyone,

I am fairly new to QlikView coming from a MySQL development world. I have the following problem and I cannot figure out how to solve it in QlikView.

I have two tables, one table called Projects, and the other ProjectStatusHistory. They are linked via a ID. The ProjectStatusHistory table holds a history of all of that stages that the project went through, and a timestamp for each of those stages.  Each project can have a handful of stages associated with it through out its lifetime.

What I need to create in a additional field in the ProjectStatusHistory that calculates how long the project stayed in each stage. 

Example:

ProjectID    Status        DateTime    Days

1        Created        May/15/2011    0

1        InReview    May/20/2011    5

1        Accepted    June/1/2011    11

1        InDevelopment    June/5/2011    4

2        ProjectReview    Jan/29/2011    0

2        BugFixing    Jan/30/2011    1

3        QATesting    Feb/15/2011    16

Does anyone have any ideas on how during the loading of this data from an XML file can I create the Day field with the calculated duration between status updates? I just cannot wrap my head around this problem, and the "QlikView" was of doing it.

Thanks!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
swuehl
MVP
MVP

Hi,

you can do this by loading your Project data ordered by ID and DateTime (DateTime should be a recognized date time with numerical representation, you might need to parse the DateTime in with date# or set the standard date time accordingly), then use peek() function to calculate the delta in days between project stages, maybe like:

Projects:

LOAD ProjectID, Status, Date(Date#(DateTime,'MMM/DD/YYYY')) as DateTime INLINE [

ProjectID,    Status,        DateTime