Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Connect 2025: 3 days of full immersion in data, analytics, and AI. May 13-15 | Orlando, FL: Learn More
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How to calculate the percentage of counts

Hi All,

I am new to QlikView and this is my first open question. Apologies if this is really basic.

I have a file with 3 columns , emp_ID , productive_Hours , available_Hours .

Utilization is calculated as productive_Hours / available_Hours ( i am able to do this in QlikView )

what I want to compute is how many employees have utilization less than 50% as a percentage of the total employees.

My input file has duplicates on Emp code as in case of E1. ( here utilization is calculated as sum of productive_Hours / sum of available_Hours)

I am not able to calculate "Ratio of Count of yes to the total count of records" ( in this case 4/9 or 44.44%)

Thanks for your help.

Regards

Rohit

Formulas usedInput 1Input 2input1 / input2if( utilization < 50%
then yes
else no)
emp_IDproductive_Hoursavailable_HoursUtilizationDeployable ?
E1505067%no
E11040
E2859094%no
E32010020%yes
E41010010%yes
E50700%yes
E67510075%no
E79010090%no
E801000%yes
E95050100%no
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
effinty2112
Master
Master

Hi Rohit,

This expression in a text box give you the answer:

=Num(Sum(Aggr(if(Sum(productive_Hours)/Sum(available_Hours) < 0.5,1),emp_ID))/Count(DISTINCT emp_ID),'0.00%')

44.44%

If you're new to QlikView it will be hard to follow. The tough bit is the part that calculates the number of emp_ID whose ratio of productive to available hours is under 0.5.

The Aggr function is very useful but takes a but of time to learn. It takes an expression followed by one or more dimensions and creates an in memory array a bit like a straight table. Because it creates an array not a number we need to put it inside an aggregation function such as Sum() to get a result.