Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
prahlad_infy
Partner - Creator II
Partner - Creator II

How to loop a for comparing strings (match based) between two different fields , each coming from different table ?

Hello Experts ,

As i am not good with looping , how to loop a for comparing strings between two different fields , each coming from different table ?

Note : Table 1 and table 2 has lots of rows , so joining with cartesian is ruled out . 

table1:
LOAD * INLINE [

word, value
Ancient, k1
Torrent, k2
Vibrant, k3
Florent, k4
Succulent, k5
Ant, k6
];

table2:
LOAD * INLINE [
freetext
SOBBERANT
movietorrent
vibrantcolor
ancient roman church
Florent
plant based succuent
];

sample output views

compare.PNG

Thank You All 

Labels (2)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Or
MVP
MVP

I'd suggest looking into using the solution described in this thread for a partial text match lookup (mapping load):

https://community.qlik.com/t5/QlikView-App-Dev/Apply-Map-If-Wildmatch-to-find-text-within-text-strin...

View solution in original post

5 Replies
Or
MVP
MVP

I'd suggest looking into using the solution described in this thread for a partial text match lookup (mapping load):

https://community.qlik.com/t5/QlikView-App-Dev/Apply-Map-If-Wildmatch-to-find-text-within-text-strin...

prahlad_infy
Partner - Creator II
Partner - Creator II
Author

Thank You Or for the reply .

I know this is weird , but i my requirement is to achieve result by looping (though not optimized way) .

That will help me on nested loop understanding .

So please help me with the solution using loop . 

marcus_sommer

In regard to learn to develop nested loops I suggest you look to any starter tutorials by any programming language because in Qlik it's logically the same and the syntactically differences are rather small.