Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

One File, Multiple not-related data sets?

I am new to QV and have been enjoying it over the past few days as I've learned much by searching through the community.

I have been asked to create a QV doc with four dashboards - three from one data set and one from a different data set.  The two data sets MUST NOT associate with each other.  There are some common field names but as the data sets are from different systems and intended for different purposes, they must each remain separate.

Is it possible to have two distinct data sets within a single qvw files?

At first I thought perhaps tabs (after seeing that in the scripts editor), but realized such was not the case.

QV 11.20.12354.0 64 bit.

Thank you.

Mark.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Gysbert_Wassenaar

Create one datamodel in which the two sets are associated. Then use Alternate States to create different selection states that do not interfere with each other. You can create alternate states on the General tab of the document properties window and assign alternate states to sheet objects on the General tab of the properties window of those objects. Selections in one alternate state will not affect objects assigned another alternate state.

talk is cheap, supply exceeds demand

View solution in original post

4 Replies
Gysbert_Wassenaar

Create one datamodel in which the two sets are associated. Then use Alternate States to create different selection states that do not interfere with each other. You can create alternate states on the General tab of the document properties window and assign alternate states to sheet objects on the General tab of the properties window of those objects. Selections in one alternate state will not affect objects assigned another alternate state.

Not applicable
Author