Announcements
Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Please help with a variation of the generic table idea

Hello,  I am new to Qlikview and able to load my data in its current state. However, I would like to distinguish between "objects" and "attributes" which are currently stored in the same ITEMS table. Objects start with a pound sign (#) and attributes start with a period (.). I have a GROUP table that combines ITEMS to make complete products. There will be only one Object per group and at least one Attribute. Here are example tables for a chair (red, 4 legs), a car (blue), and another chair (brown), which are stored on disk as XML files:  ORIGINAL ITEMS TABLE item_id     name 1             #Chair 2             #Car 3             .legs=4 4             .color=red 5             .color=blue 6            .color=brown  ORIGINAL GROUP TABLE group_id     group     o_id 1                    1           1 2                    1           3 3                    1           4 4                    2           2 5                    2           5 6                    3           1 7                    3           6  I would like to end up with listboxes for OBJECT, GROUP, and for each attribute. I believe this is identical to the Generic Database example on page 375 of the Version 11 reference manual, except I am dealing with a case where multiple objects of the same type exist (ball1,box1,ball2, box2, etc) which is handled by the GROUP column (acts like an ID for an Object/Attributes set).   Solution as List Boxes (not rows of a table)  OBJECTS    GROUP      .legs     .color #Chair                1              4          red #Car                   2                          blue                            3                          brown                                  I understand how to identify Objects and Attributes using left(string,1) and how to separate attributes fr