cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

QlikView vs OLAP

hi

when i saw the comparing video on youtube between QlikView and OLAP cube

i tried the movie example in the excel pivot table, i see that i can do what qlikview do

the question (which refer to the limitation of OLAP) was in the movie database what are the films done by Edward Sutherland  and  Ralf Harolde?

and i can answer this question in the pivot table just by rotation the qube and make the films in the columns and products with customers in the rows

the question is how qlikview different than olap cube in exploring data ?

thanks

13 Replies
Not applicable
Author

Hello,

I was wondering the same thing. The OLAP Cube can be rotated to use any of represented diminsions.

Not applicable
Author

Hi,

I'm by no means an expert but I have gone through the process of building cubes in MicroStrategy and building data models in Qlikview.

For me, the Qlikview vs OLAP question is more about the looseness of connections that can exist in Qlikview. It's a solution that doesn't require rigid, hierarchical connects between your data. This makes it quick to get to the point of looking at the data.

OLAP is a bit more cart before the horse - you have to understand the data first, then build the model then use it.

I hope this helps,

Dave

Not applicable
Author

Hello Dave

I don't quite get the advantage from qlikview modeling vs OLAP Cubes yet. What do you mean by the looseness of connections? what is the difference between a loose or a rigid hierarchical connection? In both cases fields are automaticly linked when they share a common name. Other connections have te be assigned manually. What is the factor that shortens the process or makes it more easy?

"OLAP is a bit more cart before the horse - you have to understand the data first, then build the model then use it."