cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
FionnM
Contributor III
Contributor III

Linking two tables

I'm pretty new to scripting so I apologise if this is a really obvious question.

I have two tables, one called "Events" and one called "Inflation". The "Events" table contains numerous fields like "Event Description", "Start Date", "End Date" and so on. The "Inflation" table just has two fields, "Inflation Month-Year" (e.g. "Sep-2021") and "Inflation Rate" (the rate of inflation in that month, relative to a baseline).

I'm trying to figure out a quick way to associate the month that a given event ended with the rate of inflation in that month. In my script for the Events table, I've entered a line like this:

date([Event End Date], 'MMM-YYYY') as [Inflation Month-Year]

which creates a key associating the "Events" table with the "Inflation" table.

From there, I'm stuck, and can't figure out how to then associate the Inflation Rate field with the corresponding month in the "Events" table.

Labels (2)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
marcus_sommer

The inflation data don't need a start- and end-date if there is just one value per Year & Month and the above could be used to merge them - quite a small adjustment:

m: mapping load date(date#("Month" & '-' & "Year", 'MMM-YYYY')), "Inflation Rate"
from "Inflation";

Events:
load *, applymap('m', date(monthstart(Date), 'no match') as "Inflation Rate";
load *, date("Start Date" + iterno() - 1) as Date
from Events
while date("Start Date" + iterno() - 1) <= "End Date";

By converting/interpreting month-names or weekdays it's important that the interpretation-variable at the beginning of the script fits to the loaded data - if not they need to adjusted in this way.

- Marcus

View solution in original post

9 Replies
marcus_sommer

Your Month-Year isn't a Month-Year else a date because the date() just format values but didn't change their value.