Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing a new Enhanced File Management feature in Qlik Cloud! GET THE DETAILS!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Derek_T
Contributor III
Contributor III

Why is this an error in Data Model ?

Disclaimer, I'm new to Qlik and I'm trying to figure out what's wrong with such a model below.

Qlik does not like such loop, so it seems I could either use "Master Calendar" to link table 1 and 2 OR "Unique IDS".

Now let's say I just use "Master Calendar" to link the tables, if I filter Table1 on Owner A  I'm still going to get all the Owner of Table 2 matching the same date.

And vice versa if I use "Unique IDS" instead I loose the connection on date. 

These are standard type of query though and I'm sure there's a way to do it in Qlik but I don't know how.

Capture.PNG

Thanks !

Labels (2)
13 Replies
Derek_T
Contributor III
Contributor III
Author

I found a solution to my problem:

I created a "Link" table using Unique IDs and Master Calendar on which all tables are connected. 

Load Distinct
ID
resident Unique IDs;

Join
Load Distinct
DATE
Resident Master_Calendar;

And created the Key = ID & '-' DATE in the Link Table as well as Table1 and Table2.

Only issue I have with such an approach is that the Link Table size grow very quickly, especially if such a key involve more than 2 fields. So I'm still open to suggestion if there's a more efficient approach, I don't know if the Link table is stored in memory are recomputed every time it's queried.

marcus_sommer

The link-table is stored within the file and is also kept in memory and is used in all related UI objects to create the appropriate dimensional context within virtual tables on which the final aggregations are performed.

In general such approach worked but from a performance point of view it's by larger data-sets usually not the best choice. Therefore my above suggestion not to create a link-table else to concatenate the fact-tables directly.