Skip to main content
Announcements
SYSTEM MAINTENANCE: Thurs., Sept. 19, 1 AM ET, Platform will be unavailable for approx. 60 minutes.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
TDerbyshire
Contributor
Contributor

Development Life Cycle and Continuous Integration

First off I would like to say that I am pretty new to all of this. I have only been learning Talend, Git, CI and such for about four months now. Our orginization is trying to follow what "Best Practices" are, but find that depending on who you talk to you get different "Best Practices". Below you will find what seem like the best fit for our orginization. Please feel free to correct me if I have any incorrect thought processes, or concepts.

From what I understand the lifecycle of a project follows this path:

00 - In TAC a new project is created, this creates a new master branch in the repository

01 - The master branch is checked out as "Development" creating a development branch on the git repo

02 - A developer checks out the development branch to their local system so they can work on bug fixes, new features and such

03 - The developer has some code ready to test in the development environment so they do a Pull and Merge to verify that their code will still function with any existing code on the development branch

04 - After verifying that all code still functions the developer will push their code to the development branch

* Due to the SCM Polling, Jenkins should detect that a change has occured on the development branch and fire off it's job to Generate, Build/Test the code, and deploy it to the Development environment

05 - The developer later on decides to tweak the code. so they first do a Pull and Merge so they have the current Development code to work with

06 - The commit from step 04 was approved to be moved to the testing environment and a Tag (qa/1013a) is created