Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
APelmus
Contributor
Contributor

ETL that reads select query from inside a column and inserts the resulted rows into another table

Hello everybody,

• I am a beginner with Talend and this might be very easy to do, but for me seems a little bit complicated, so I would appreciate your help.
  • I have a table (TABLE A) that contains a column in which different queries are stored. For every row from that table, the column named 'query' contains a select statement.
  • Each of these queries selects same kind of columns (so the table resulted for each of the query looks similar (same number of columns and same type of data)
  • I need to read the data resulted from running the select statement from within the column 'query' of the TABLE A and insert them into TABLE B.
  • Table B's columns are the same as the columns from the select statements.
  • I think i need to select the query column from the TABLE A and then create a context for that column and next to somehow read the data using the context and insert it into TABLE B but i don't know what kind of components I should use.

Thank you!

Andreea

Labels (2)
2 Replies
BenG
Partner - Contributor III
Partner - Contributor III

Hi Andreea,

I hope I understood it correctly, I just made my own example.

I have created a table "Queries" that contains in one column the queries

0695b00000dc0XCAAY.png 

Then I have a table "Table A" with the values I query.

0695b00000dc0WoAAI.png 

The Job design looks like this