Skip to main content
Announcements
See what Drew Clarke has to say about the Qlik Talend Cloud launch! READ THE BLOG
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jhammagisa
Contributor II
Contributor II

How to loop a tRestClient to fetch all data

I aim to retrieve all the data from our Freshdesk ticketing system. However, I've encountered a limitation with the API, which only permits a maximum of 100 data entries per page.

As we have over 1,000 contacts to gather and store in our database, I'm currently facing a challenge in looping back to the tRESTClient to fetch the next set of data and appending it to my CSV file.

Here's my current setup: tRESTClient -> tXMLMap -> tLogRow -> tFileOutputDelimited. My end goal is to be able to fetch all the contact details and store it to our MySQL DB. 

I am very new at using Talend so any guidance on how to proceed would be greatly appreciated.

Labels (1)
  • REST

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Shicong_Hong
Support
Support

You can define a context variable for page number called pageNumber, int type, default value as 1, and set a dynamic URL:

"{baseUrl}api/v2/contacts?page="+context.pageNumber+"&per_page=100"

Use a tLoop with For type to make a loop, define a context variable (boolean type, default value as "true") called "condition" and use this context variable in the Condition field.

Shicong_Hong_0-1715936297371.png

A simple job looks like:

tLoop--iterate--tRestClient--> tXMLMap -> tFileOutputDelimited_1--oncomponentok--tJava

on tJava:

int number_of_records=((Integer)globalMap.get("tFileOutputDelimited_1_NB_LINE"));

if(number_of_records<=100&&number_of_records!=0){

context.pageNumber=context.pageNumber+1;

}else{
context.condition=false;
}

Please have a try and let me know if you have any issues/questions.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
Shicong_Hong
Support
Support

Hello