Skip to main content
Announcements
SYSTEM MAINTENANCE: Thurs., Sept. 19, 1 AM ET, Platform will be unavailable for approx. 60 minutes.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Iterating through values in table for single Context Variable

Hi there, I'm quite new to Talend and have struggled a bit in finding a good approach for this. 
My use case is I'd like to iterate over a table of database names to set a context.database variable, so that when a tMySQLInput component runs it will run for `databaseA` then shoots data to a common target, then the database variable would be overwritten by the next in the list `databaseB` and so on.
I've experimented a bit with the tContextLoad and am able to get that to set a database name for a single entry - but am wondering how to iterate over multiple rows of the same key values from a table source. Not seeing a good way to get this to accept an iterated value. 
My source table for setting the variables would look like this: 
|key|value| 
|database|databaseA|
|database|databaseB|
Thanks for any help!
Labels (2)
3 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

This is pretty straight forward. First of all, build a standalone job that will use context variables to set your database connection, carry out the query and load the data. You probably have this given your description. 
Next build another job which will query your db table with your db credentials. Connect a tMySQLInput (with the query) to a tFlowToIterate. Then drag your previous job into this new job. Connect your tFlowToIterate to that job using an "iterate" connector.