Skip to main content
Announcements
July 15, NEW Customer Portal: Initial launch will improve how you submit Support Cases. IMPORTANT DETAILS
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SanyaBLR
Contributor
Contributor

how to reduce tFileDelimited by actual number of columns

hi guys,

I'm a newbie in Talend and need some help.

I have a job which converts xlsx file to csv file with 100 columns like (col1;col2;col3;...;col100;). There is in the red section (1st) this file. 

In the blue section (2nd) I want to reduce this file to by actual number of columns (header)…

0695b00000N3BfmAAF.png

I use tFileInputFullRow component ("read raw file") to convert all rows to one string

then use tMap-expression to trim all the last “;” characters and add one “;” like below:

0695b00000N3BfJAAV.png

TalendString.talendTrim(row10.newColumn,';',-1)+";"

so, for majority of my files this flow works correct, but some of them is not correct.. cause I have missed some values in some rows.. and its reduce not correct.. for example, I have actually header with 18 columns, and some of rows have cells with missed values.. and as a result it only contains 17 “;” .. and finally I have file with incorrect structure…

1st row is header

2nd and 3rd are correct

4-6th are incorrect and have only 17 instead of 18 separators.

0695b00000N3BkIAAV.png

can anybody help me how to do it?

Labels (3)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable

I don't understand why you are removing the last ";" and re-adding it. Is this because you end up with some rows like this....

col1;col2;col3;col4;col5;col6;;;;;;;;;;

aa;bb;cc;dd;ee;ff;;;;;;;;;;

...and you want to remove the excess ";" characters? If so (and I presume that is the reason), I have knocked up a quick example. You will need to extrapolate from this to fit it to what you are doing, but it works for data like above.

Here is a screenshot of my job....