Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SCCC1643798450
Contributor
Contributor

tKafkaInput Exception Handling

Hi All,

I am new to Talend and trying with Talend 7.1 Open Studio. We have a requirement where we will receive the message on Kafka Topic and then we will persist it into Database. For this I have used tKafkaInput Component that consuming the messages. Now the issue is after tKafkaInput component we have tJavaRow that do the transformation of the message that we received on Kafka Topic and if any error occurred in tJavaRow component I could see entire process terminate.

My requirement is if any error occurred in tJavaRow or while persisting record in DB I'll have to retry the message 3 times and then send the message to other Kafka error topic instead of terminating the process. My process should be running.

What is the way to handle this requirement?

Thanks

Labels (3)
4 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Why would you need to retry 3 times? If something goes wrong with the transformation the first time, it will happen every other time. If the record does not make it to the DB, similar is true (although it could just be because the DB is down I guess). Also, what logic do you have the in tJavaRow? The tJavaRow is very powerful (especially if you have some Java knowledge), but you ca end up "reinventing the wheel" if you are not careful. Try bringing the logic out into other components. This way you can capture errors far easier.

If the message errors at all during this process, you should pass it to your error topic immediately. This will be far more efficient and prevent some incredibly convoluted process that is not necessary (given the example you have shared.....I may have missed something, if so please feel free to let me know).

SCCC1643798450
Contributor
Contributor
Author