Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
McDon
Contributor III
Contributor III

tREST text/csv RESPONSE -> Snowflake via interim file - avoiding the interim file

I am new to Talend Studio and still learning various aspects of it. Your patience is appreciated.

Summary

I am trying to retrieve REST API data, parse it out and write it to Snowflake. By writing to this community I hope someone can help me refine my approach and further my Talend comprehension.

Goal

Receive a single text string response from the REST API that contains the rows and columns and then structure the data to write it to a Snowflake table.

Details

I am calling Smartsheet API via tREST component.

The request is set to Accept=text/csv.

What I receive back, as expected, is a single row with two fields: Body and Error_Code

I now want to load that data into a Snowflake structured table.

This is a low volume of data so my goal is simply to transform the data in Talend Studio code versus using ELT components. Plus this will force me to explore new areas of Talend.

Requirements

- Single string must be parsed into separate rows

- All data is quoted per CSV standards

- EOL indicator is embedded in the data within the quoted field

- Return structured row/column data per the pre-defined schema

How I got it to work:

- tREST -main-> tFileOuputDelimited -onComponentOk-> tFileInputDelimited -main-> tDBOutput (snowflake)

I would like to avoid writing the file to disk and reading it again just to get the data transformation from those widgets.

What else did I try:

- tSplitRow - I couldn't get it to work because the EOL character is within the data and tSplitRow must consider the CSV standard of quoted data - it is not a blind parse on character scenario

- tExtractDelimitedFilds - couldn't use this until at least the rows were parsed out.