Skip to main content
Announcements
Accelerate Your Success: Fuel your data and AI journey with the right services, delivered by our experts. Learn More
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Is SVN required for remote connection and projects?

Hi, I'm new to Talend and using 4.2.2. I did a successful local windows installation on my desktop, without using SVN, but we have now installed it on a Unix server and I'm trying to connect and create projects, and, if it works, remove the local installation. As I'll be the only developer and we are still testing and need to get a demo out quickly I didn't really want to get into SVN just yet so didn't install that.
However, although I'm set up as a user with full rights, including admin and designer, I can't create projects. I've tried it from both ends client and TAC.
From the TAC end, in Add a project, without clicking the advanced tickbox I get http://localhost/svn/MYPROJECT is not a valid URL (where MYPROJECT is the project name). Replacing localhost with the IP address, removing /svn/ etc still fails
From the client end, I can create new projects using the local connection, but with the remote connection, although it's happy with the connection URL and the user details (email, password etc), when I try to create it again says http://localhost/svn/SANDBOX is not a valid URL and I can't edit this one. The manual says that sandbox projects create the user and the project and are only possible where the user doesn't exist, but it does.
The client executable is the same one as I installed from the original local window installation - using client installation. Does that matter? I can't see how else i would install a windows client - it would have to be locally, I assume, and you are supposed to be able to switch between local and remote. They are both 4.2.2 and their installations are based on the same licence file.
Any help gratefully received.
Thanks.
Labels (3)
4 Replies