Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tripod6999
Contributor II
Contributor II

Maintaining a constant rank based on a calculated field/column

Hello,

I am new to QlikView.

I have a table which has three columns:

First column: Course title (this is a field and each course title is unique)

Second column: No. of Applications (for each course title) (this is a calculated column)

Third column: Course Ranking Based on No. of Applications (this is a calculated column based on the second column)

I would like to add a fourth column with an expression in QlikView which keeps the ranking the same when I choose any specific course title. Someone has suggested using the AGGR function, but I cannot seem to get this to work as it should. Remember I am a newbie so a very simple explanation would be most useful, so no mention of scripts, variables, etc, if possible - just a simple expression please! Thank you.

Labels (2)
7 Replies
marcus_sommer

To ignore selections you need a set analysis, maybe something like this:

rank(count({< Course >} Applications))

which would ignore all selections within the field Course.

tripod6999
Contributor II
Contributor II
Author

Hello Marcus,

That doesn't seem to work as it should as the rankings appear to be inconsistent e.g. with that expression I have two courses with zero applications having very different rankings. One good thing though is the rankings given by the expression don't change when I click on them. I will try to play around with the expression to see if I can make it work. Thanks again. 

marcus_sommer

It sounds that you may not (only) want ignoring selections else ignoring a certain dimensionality from the object. To get this you need to add a total, like:

rank(count({< Course >} TOTAL <Course> Applications))