Skip to main content
Announcements
Accelerate Your Success: Fuel your data and AI journey with the right services, delivered by our experts. Learn More
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
chriskan
Contributor III
Contributor III

Remove all character/symbols after comma

Hello, 

I have a column filled with strings similar to 'Mercury, Venus, Saturn, Neptune', 'Mars', 'Dwarf Planet, Pluto' etc.

How do I remove everything after and including the first comma to result in 'Mercury', 'Mars', 'Dwarf Planet'?

Thanks

Labels (1)
15 Replies
chriskan
Contributor III
Contributor III
Author

Could I see an example with iterno() please as I have never used this expression before?

marcus_sommer

It may look like:

load *, subfield(StringL1, ',', iterno() as StringL2, iterno() as IterNoL2, rowno() as RowNo;
load *, subfield(String, ''',', iterno()) as StringL1, iterno() as IterNoL1, recno() as RecNo
from Source while iterno() <= substringcount(String, ''',');

chriskan
Contributor III
Contributor III
Author

I need an expression the the entire column, not each individual string. Thanks for the response!

marcus_sommer

All essential work should be done within the data-model. Even if you couldn't do everything in the script, for example the final results are depending on certain selections, such data-preparation could simplify the UI work a lot because you could know exactly which string-parts are on which level and have how many items and which order and many more ...

Or
MVP
MVP

Left() does not loop. It sounds like your data isn't actually what you've been describing, and is instead composed of multiple rows being concatenated or something similar?

You can see how Left() works by replacing Field with the actual string, e.g. Left('Mercury, Venus, Saturn, Neptune',7) will return Mercury.

chriskan
Contributor III
Contributor III
Author

Tried a few functions and turns out this works best: