Skip to main content
Announcements
See what Drew Clarke has to say about the Qlik Talend Cloud launch! READ THE BLOG
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
hov
Contributor II
Contributor II

nested set analysis

Hi, I am new to qlik and am having some trouble with a set analysis expression im trying to handle.

I am trying to calculate the diff of a measure between the max date in the selection and its predecessor. 

date_num = integer value of my date, increasing

report name = report selection 

A region filter also applies 

I would like something as follows however this doesnt work when a single date is selected. 

count({<date_num={$(=max(date_num))}>}ReportName) - count({<date_num={$(=max(date_num, 2))}>}ReportName)

I would like to keep the other two filters to work as normal (reportname and region)

Labels (3)
2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
marcus_sommer

No, it won't produce the same issue because it overwrites the set selection. Therefore, the following should work:

count({<date_num={$(=max(date_num))}>}ReportName) -
count({<date_num={$(=max(date_num)-1)},
   ReportName=p(ReportName), Region=p(Region)>}ReportName)

in regard to the above mentioned fact of the existing date_num.

- Marcus

View solution in original post

hov
Contributor II
Contributor II
Author

Hi thank you for your input.

This approach worked for me, with the addition of {1} in the subtraction.

count({<date_num={$(=max(date_num))}>}ReportName) - count({1<date_num={$(=max(date_num)-2)}, ReportName=p(ReportName), Region=p(Region)>}ReportName)

View solution in original post

12 Replies
agigliotti
Partner - Champion
Partner - Champion

Hi @hov ,

What's the expected result when a single date has been selected?

MayilVahanan

Hi

If the dates are continuous, then try like below

count({<date_num={$(=max(date_num))}>}ReportName) - count({<date_num={$(=max(date_num)-1)}>}ReportName)

Thanks & Regards, Mayil Vahanan R