Jul 25, 2023 9:31:57 AM

Updated By:

Dalton_Ruer

Created date:

Feb 13, 2023 10:17:36 AM

Attachments

FedoraLinux1.png

Purpose

The purpose of this post is to help you install the database drivers necessary to allow your Qlik Data Gateway to communicate with your company's servers once you have completed the Qlik Data Gateway installation itself. 

Background

If you are anything like me, perhaps you panicked a bit at the thought of installing the Qlik Data Gateway in a Linux environment. I have a lot of experience with .EXE installations in Windows environments. You know "Next – Next – Next – Finish." But an .RPM file?  I had never even see that extension type before. If you were a Linux connoisseur beforehand, you probably guessed that my image for this post is an homage to the Fedora flavor of Linux. Otherwise you just thought it was an advertisement for the new "Raiders of the Lost Data" movie.

In any event, by now you have created your first Data Gateway, applied the registration key, completed the setup instructions and thankfully the command to check your Data Gateway service shows that it is running.

RepagentServiceStatusShowsRunning.png

When you go back to the Data Gateway section of the Management Console and do a refresh your eyes fill you with happiness because your brand spanking new Data Movement Gateway shows "Connected.”

DataGateway_Connected.png

A lesser person would go celebrate right now. But you've decided to try and connect to a source before doing your happy dance. So, you create a new Data Integration project to the destination of your choice. While you will ultimately have many different data sources, let's imagine that you decide to start with a "SQL Server (Log Based)" connection, as your first source test.