Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing a new Enhanced File Management feature in Qlik Cloud! GET THE DETAILS!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
YC-Bisley
Contributor
Contributor

Create new field (PeriodID) when loading data

Hell there, I am new to Qlik.

I am loading my Excel data (2 tables) into Qlik.

For my main data tab, I  would like to create a new filed when loading the data (see below, the bolded line is the additional field I would like to add). The second tab is my reference tab. 

The added script worked and data was loaded, when I go to the data manager page,  synchronize the data and load the data again it returns an error message "duplicate derived field"

//Main data tab:

[ExistingCustomernewitemsalesRe]:

LOAD

[Customer Name],

[Document Number],

[Date],

[Item],

[Display Name],

[Invoice Total Amount],

[Division],

[Trader],

[Subsidiary],

[Item Creation Date],

Month([Date])+Year([Date])*12 as [data.PeriodID]        //new field added manually

FROM [lib://DataFiles/Existing Customer New Item Sale (from 2013).xlsx]

(ooxml, embedded labels, table is ExistingCustomernewitemsalesRe);

//Second tab:

[Period]:

LOAD

[Period],

[Period ID],

[FY Year],

[FY],

[Month],

[Year],

[Mon]

FROM [lib://DataFiles/Power Query.xlsx]

(ooxml, embedded labels, table is Period);

YCBisley_0-1679373234262.png

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Vinay_B
Support
Support

Hi @YC-Bisley 

It appears that you loaded data, then unlocked the script, then loaded data again using the data manager, which created second auto-generated section in the script (the locked one). It has a second autoCalendar, and you should not have two calendars with the same name.

Since this is for learning purposes and you are new to Qlik, I would propose that you start over and create your app using only the data manager. Explore the associations, edit the tables, then have a look at the data model viewer.