cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
deec
Creator
Creator

QV Server Security Best Practices - Macros/Other Code

I've been working with Qlikview for quite some time, but I am new to Administering a server. In over a dozen installations of QV (separate firms) I've only ever seen macros allowed once in server. 

A small subset of our developers is requesting I install Python on the windows server. I've been searching but cannot find any particular best practices or reasons why this would be problematic. I do not know much about python beyond that it is an object-oriented language. It is my understanding that I will not be able to limit what it will be able to do, and will be forced to go line-by-line anytime that python script is updated.

The reason they want python is to be able to: Build a script that can be launched from an application that opens a separate QVWs, set some selections, run a report, print it to PDF, then do the same thing with the next QVW (there are a handful), lastly it would concatenate all those PDFs into a single PDF and make it available to the user.

I am hoping NPrinting will be able to meet this requirement (creating a big fat PDF from multiple QVWs in the same server), and we can avoid the use of macros or other languages. But in the meantime, what (if any) are reasons to push back against installing Python on the QV Server?

Secondary question. Is there a reason this couldn't be done simply with macros using VB Script? why would Python be any better?

This is a single box setup with Server and Publisher on the same box.

1 Reply
Miguel_Angel_Baeyens