Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Associating fields between tables

I am fairly new to Qlikview and am having issues trying to set-up an application. I'm trying to summarize sales data from an excel spreadsheet. So in my script I am loading the data from the spreadsheet, the file contains 3 fields I'm trying to pull, Store, Qty, and Amount. I then am using a ODBC connection to load info for the Store from 2 tables called Stores and Owners. I need the field Store in the excel sheet to be associated with StoreNumber in the Stores table from SQL. I have a pivot table that I'm summarizing the data in. I can get data by store ok, but via the Stores table and Owners table, I need it summarized by Owner. If I collapse all records it shows the entire total for each owner, if i try to expand all records it show the correct totals by store but lists them all on one owner only. I tried via the script to rename the fileds in the Stores table and the excel spreadsheet so they had an association to to each other. But, when I did that I couldn't get any data in the pivot table. What do I need to do to the correct stores assigned to their respective owners. Thanks for any help.

Rick

18 Replies
Not applicable
Author

Hello Rick

once you join the store,qty and amount from the excel sheet to the stores table maybe by StoreNumber (make sure you have storeNumber in table and excel sheet) then link the stores table to the Owners table, once you have that link then you can place them in the pivot table or straight table but in the calculation maybe you have to write some if statements or Set anylysis.

If possible post one dummy application and somebody can able to help you

Talha

Not applicable
Author

Here is my script statement. I know that Store needs to be linked somehow to StoreNumber, but I tried renaming Store to StoreNumber and then I can't get any results.

LOAD