Skip to main content
Announcements
See what Drew Clarke has to say about the Qlik Talend Cloud launch! READ THE BLOG
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
alwayslearning
Creator
Creator

CountIfs

Hi,

I am new to Qlik and so help would be much appreciated. I am trying to perform what in Excel would be CountIFS.  Counting based on multiple Columns.

I want to be able to count nulls for Multiple Columns: e.g.

GroupForenameSurnameAge
1JohnSmith51
1SamShaw21
2Harold
2Amy
3 Jones

You can see in Forename there is 1 Null, Surname has 2 and Age has 3.  I want to be able to count these nulls in various ways.

1. I want to be able to sum the null of multiple columns i.e. Forename + Surname = 3 Nulls

2. I want to be able to sum the null of multiple columns and then base it on multiple groups i.e. Forename + Surname of Group2 = 2 Nulls & Forename + Surname of Group2 +3 = 3 Nulls etc.

I've come across countif through: =count({<Field={'A','B'}>} Field), which I think is a good starting point.

Thank you.

Qlikview Novice

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MarcoWedel

Hi,

maybe this helps:

QlikCommunity_Thread_233983_Pic1.JPG

QlikCommunity_Thread_233983_Pic2.JPG

QlikCommunity_Thread_233983_Pic3.JPG

table1:

LOAD *,

-IsNull(Forename) as IsNullForename,

-IsNull(Surname)  as IsNullSurname,

-IsNull(Age)      as IsNullAge;

LOAD RecNo() as ID,

Group,

If(Len(Forename),Forename) as Forename,

If(Len(Surname),Surname)   as Surname,

If(Len(Age),Age)           as Age

FROM [https://community.qlik.com/thread/233983] (html, codepage is 1252, embedded labels, table is @1);

table2:

CrossTable (NullField, IsNull)

LOAD ID,

IsNullForename,

IsNullSurname,

IsNullAge

Resident table1;

regards

Marco

View solution in original post

11 Replies
sunny_talwar

May be these if they are not white spaces, but true nulls

1) RangeSum(NullCount(Forename), NullCount(Surname))

2) Not sure I understand your second requirement, can you elaborate?

Digvijay_Singh