Skip to main content
Announcements
SYSTEM MAINTENANCE: Thurs., Sept. 19, 1 AM ET, Platform will be unavailable for approx. 60 minutes.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Dynamic chart creation via script...

Hi...

I'm new to both QlikView & Qlik Sense, testing them out to see if they meet my needs.  I'm leaning towards QlikView as it appears to have more scripting capabilities.  However, I was wondering if it's possible to create multiple charts dynamically via script.  So, using a really basic example, I would like to create a dynamic number of histograms, one per incoming field, showing the values and counts.

For example, if I have a flat file containing 37 fields, is it possible to loop through each of the fields and create 37 different chart histograms?  Or could be 1 histogram per tab, with 37 tabs.

So, if I were to pseudocode it...  (Yeah, I'm a SQL guy...)

Load file(s) into TABLE1

declare X integer

, total_columns integer

, field_name varchar

set X = 1

set total_columns = count(columns) from TABLE1

While X <= total_columns

begin

Set field_name = name(columnnumber(X))

Create_chart [name: chart + string(X)

, type: barchart

, x_axis: columnnumber(X)

, y_axis: count(*)

, title: field_name

, appearance: default]

X = X + 1

end

Auto-arrange page

Going forward, I would make this more complex depending on the incoming data type (e.g. do something different with dates), but I'm just trying to proof-of-concept this idea...  I also understand that not every chart would be readable (e.g. a comments field), but I'd be OK with that.

Incoming files could contain hundreds of columns, so manually creating a chart for each column is impractical.  And using VBScript with Excel would also not work, as I'm dealing with datasets with >1 million rows of data.

Thanks!

7 Replies
MarcoWedel

Hi,