Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Enriching structural metadata in QV/extract data lineage from QV

Hi

I am new to QlikView and its architecture. As a senior developer I got a task to solve data lineage issue in our company.

I know that QV Governance Dashboard offers a way to scan and present data lineage. My business department want to see not only what sources (in this case data warehouse is always QV source) and columns different QV apps are using, but also sources populating the data warehouse itself (databases, Excel sheets, files). Data warehouse sources are stored in a repository which I can read with ease. My first question is if I can enrich structural metadata created by the Governance Dashboard in order to present total data lineage, ie. Database/Excel/Files->Data Warehouse->QV?

Another question is the opposite of the above. Is there an API or a way to extract data lineage (sources and fields) from Governance Dashboard or .QVW? Does Governance Dashboard produce some kind of output as MetaScanner did (is MetaScanner deprecated?)?

Kind regards

A.H.

9 Replies
Tyler_Waterfall
Employee
Employee

A.H.

I am not aware of any way to see the full lineage picture at this point.

Concerning the data in the Governance Dashboard, the reload does produce several QVXs and QVDs that could be used in other applications.  These files are stored in the profile folder you set in the configuration page of the Governance Dashboard.

Some files to consider:

TableLineage.QVD

QVWTables.QVD

QVWFields.QVD

QvdTableHeader.QVD

QvdFieldHeader.QVD

You might just do a CTRL+T in the Governance Dashboard to see how these tables are associated to get a sense of how you could use them in other applications.

Not applicable
Author

So pls help me understand one thing...