Skip to main content
Announcements
See why Qlik is a Leader in the 2024 Gartner® Magic Quadrant™ for Analytics & BI Platforms. Download Now
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Filter Key Word based on another Key Word

I am brand new to Qlikview. I have two tables of data (Table1 and Table2) from one Excel file. Table1 has a field called KeyWord with a string of data for each field (For example, Table1, from cell A1: 5G#;ABI#;CAPLAN#;). Table2 has one column of data and each cell has a unique value (For example, Table2, cell A1 to C1: 5G, ABI, CAPLAN). Each cell in Table2 has 1 value. I'm trying to create a Key Word search function where the user selects a key word from Table2 that pulls up all values in Table1 containing the value selected by the user.

Table1
KeyWords
5G#;ABI#;CAPLAN#;
5G#;ABI#;
ABI#;CAPLAN#;
Table2
KeyWordsMaster
5G
ABI
CAPLAN
RESULT
IF 5G selected in Table2, Table1 displays:
5G#;ABI#;CAPLAN#;
5G#;ABI#;
7 Replies
marcus_sommer

Qlik worked on the basis of table-associations and I suggest to use one for your requirement. From your description I could imagine the following:

table1:

load * from table1;

RecordTagsFromTable1:

load KeyWords, subfield(purgechar(KeyWords, '#'), ';') as RecordTag resident table1;

whereby purgechar() removed the hash-sign and subfield splitted the fieldvalue on the semicolon and creates several records from them. After them you could use RecordTag as your search-field.

- Marcus

Not applicable
Author

Thanks Marcus,

Introducing a little more complexity, what if my values have numbers associated between the "#" and ";"? For example, 5G;#23;#ABI;#190;#CAPLAN;#122

So the real value of 5G is "5G;#23"

Value of ABI is "ABI;#190"

Value of CAPLAN is "CAPLAN;#122"

it becomes more complicated so I thought it might be easier to have another field (liked table2) the filters table1 because table2 is already cleaned up

Not applicable
Author