Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Filtering on Pre Calculated Data

Hi,

I'm new to Qlik and would like to know how I can view the following data created via a GROUPING SETS statement in SQL. This was used because there are many-to-many relationships between the dimensions.

If you're not familiar with GROUPING SETS data, the first row below totals the unique users for one dimension (Country) and the other rows totals the unique users for two dimensions (Country and Device). This is because some users may have more than one device.

CountryDeviceTotal Unique Users
FRANCENULL50,000
FRANCEiOS26,000
FRANCEAndroid25,000

I want the user who selects Country=FRANCE as the only filter to return 50,000 unique users and not a sum of all rows containing Country=FRANCE.

How is this best achieved in Qlik? Or should I not be using precalculated fields at all in Qlik, and instead use the user level data (what happens if this is very large)?

Thanks

15 Replies
sunny_talwar

Attaching the sample for you to review

swuehl
MVP
MVP

TotalUnique.png

edit: Sunny is always faster in creating sample apps...

But his expression should also work in Sense

Not applicable
Author

Jones, as per my understanding your source table itself have rolling totals for each dimension combinations. In your requirement, I guess your looking only for Total value for the Country.

So while loading the data, add another flag field to identify the row belongs to which level of dimension its belongs too and use the flag field in your set analysis.

Its easy for your DWH team add the another flag field to table or you can Identify based on the null values on your dimension fields.

Not applicable
Author

Jones, you already have GroupID filed to identify the data level belongs to which dimensions. GroupID 7 belongs to Country so you can simply use it.

Expression:

Sum({<{GroupID={7}}>}Total_unique_Users)

Not applicable
Author