Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Filtering on Pre Calculated Data

Hi,

I'm new to Qlik and would like to know how I can view the following data created via a GROUPING SETS statement in SQL. This was used because there are many-to-many relationships between the dimensions.

If you're not familiar with GROUPING SETS data, the first row below totals the unique users for one dimension (Country) and the other rows totals the unique users for two dimensions (Country and Device). This is because some users may have more than one device.

CountryDeviceTotal Unique Users
FRANCENULL50,000
FRANCEiOS26,000
FRANCEAndroid25,000

I want the user who selects Country=FRANCE as the only filter to return 50,000 unique users and not a sum of all rows containing Country=FRANCE.

How is this best achieved in Qlik? Or should I not be using precalculated fields at all in Qlik, and instead use the user level data (what happens if this is very large)?

Thanks

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
swuehl
MVP
MVP

TotalUnique.png

edit: Sunny is always faster in creating sample apps...

But his expression should also work in Sense

View solution in original post

15 Replies
sunny_talwar

You want to see 50,000 because it is Device = NULL? Will that be true for other countries also? If it is, then you can try this:

Sum({<Device = {'NULL'}>} [Total Unique Users])

Colin-Albert

Just load the rows where Device > ''  (or Device <> 'NULL')  to exclude the Country Total row, then your data will sum correctly in Qlik.

The other option is to load the raw data and let Qlik calculate the sum.  This may prove more flexible.  50,000 rows is not big for Qlik systems.

Not applicable
Author