Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing a new Enhanced File Management feature in Qlik Cloud! GET THE DETAILS!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Guidance please

I am after a little help here please.

I am seeking a cheaper option to embedding BI reporting than MS's Power BI option offers and Qlik appears to be ticking the right boxes.  I acknowledge that there will be a large learning curve but all I see is a whole load of downloading and "try it" opportunities, without an option for SQL Server.  Sense seems to be an end-user not a developer's tool.

I have downloaded and installed QlikView PE and looked at the Cloud options and there is nothing about importing data from SQL Server.  The former seems to be Excel only and the Cloud options are not much better.

I have been in IT for far too many years and a lot of them as a MSSQL DBA, so I am not a newbie to the game.

Any guidance with regards to what I should be downloading and testing would be appreciated, as I am not finding the answers from the Qlik web-site?

My only prerequisites are the BI solution must be embedded and must support SQL Server.

With thanks for your time and patience.

9 Replies
kfoudhaily
Partner - Creator III
Partner - Creator III

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Thanks Michael.  The video did it!

I am supposed to Edit a Script to import data.  Wow!  That is really not obvious!  Qlik please note.

I am a busy person and wasting 1/2 day on this, should not have happened.  In that time, I am already half way through evaluating a competitor of yours.

Miguel_Angel_Baeyens

If you mean the ODBC part, I don't see how can you avoid creating the ODBC (or JDBC) to extract the data in any other software. In QlikView, the way of connecting to data sources (databases or spreadsheets, files or websites) is via the Script Editor. Qlik Sense can be a bit different.