Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing a new Enhanced File Management feature in Qlik Cloud! GET THE DETAILS!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Hiding Dimension (pivot) by using Sheet Properties

I'm trying to hide a column by setting a 'Sheet Object Event trigger - OnActive' action from the Sheet Properties, Triggers tab - I don't seem to be able to get the VB to work.

Sub HideDim

set obj = ActiveDocument.GetSheetObject("CH364")

set objProp = obj.GetProperties

set objDim = objProp.Dimensions

objDim(2).ColWidth = 0

obj.SetProperties objProp

end sub

Can someone point out my obvious mistake as I'm not a VB developer

7 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Chris,

This is what I use to hide column in a pivot table (in this example chart CH01, column 2):

sub Squeeze
call HideColumn("CH01", 2)
end sub
'
private sub HideColumn(ch, n)
set ch = ActiveDocument.GetSheetObject(ch)
ch.SetPixWidth (n-1), 0
end sub

Not applicable
Author

Another option is to disable columns:

set chart = ActiveDocument.GetSheetObject("CH678")

cp = chart.GetProperties

set expr = cp.Expressions.Item(0).Item(0).Data.ExpressionData 'where the first item(0) is item(column number)

expr.Enable = false

chart.SetProperties cp

Not applicable
Author

I can't get this to disable a dimension colunm it stops at

set expr = cp.Expressions.Item(0).Item(0).Data.ExpressionData 'where the first item(0) is item(column number)

Any ideas?

Not applicable
Author

Sorry i thought you wanted to hide an expression. You should either use Michael's solution above or create a calculated dimension.

To create a calculated dimension take a look at the following post, there's a sample file called test.qvw that explains what to do:

http://community.qlik.com/forums/t/19245.aspx

Basically you will create a dimension that looks like:

=if($(dimShow)=1,'Dim2',' ')

The dimShow will be set in the maco to be either 1 or 0.