Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Connect 2025: 3 days of full immersion in data, analytics, and AI. May 13-15 | Orlando, FL: Learn More
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How to convert a Slider calendar object to Date List Boxes

Hello all,

We have a current QlikView application that has a date calendar object slider on it. It has been requested to remove the slider and replace it with selectable date list boxes (Year, Quarter, Month). I'm fairly new to QlikView and have been trying all sorts of things to replace the slider and haven't come up with a solution that gives the same results.

I have created the master calendar script and added the Year, Quarter, Month list boxes just fine.

Note: In my calendar script I have both the month as a string in the form of "Jan" and as a Month Number in the form of "1", as well as a MonthYear in the form of "Jan2011".

We have a straight table with a single calculated dimension (and a few expressions for the other columns), but the calculated dimension is what I need to change to work correctly.

The calculated dimension is:

=if((LossRunMthYear < (Date(MakeDate(Year(AddMonths(vTodaysDate,1)), Month(AddMonths(vTodaysDate,1)), 1), 'MMM YYYY'))) and (LossRunMthYear >= (Date(MakeDate(Year(AddMonths(vTodaysDate,-11)), Month(AddMonths(vTodaysDate, -11)), 1), 'MMM YYYY'))), State)

"LossRunMthYear" is in the form of Jan2011

"vTodaysDate" is a date in the form of 41436

The calculated dimension is basically converting the numeric date to the form of MMM YYY (Which I'm sure can be deduced from the calculated dimension) and then adding/subtracting months to get a date range.

The slider changes the "vTodaysDate" variable based on the month/year chosen by the user in the slider.