Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How to use fields from different tables in set expression

Hello QlikView Experts,

I am new to QlikView and developing an application to load sales data for one company.

The scenario I am working on is this:-

There is order_header table that mainly contains fields: orderdate, amount, id, itemname. Using the various date functions I have derived Year, Month Date from this field. (Right now not using a Separate Calendar Table). Now, I have one small table : Season that contains 4 columns:-    Year, SeasonType, SeasonStartDate and SeasonCloseDate.

As you see the two column are linked on the column: Year.

Now, I want to be able to get the sum or amount for the selected year but for orderdate >= SeasonStartDate  and orderdate <= SeasonCloseDate. None of the below 3 Set expression I came up with is working. I am sure I am missing something here.

Sum({$<Year={"$(=max(Year))"},SeasonType = {'Summer'}, SeasonStartDate = {"$(=max(SeasonStartDate))"}, SeasonCloseDate = {"$(=max(SeasonCloseDate))"}>}amount)

Sum({$<Year={"$(=max(Year))"},SeasonType = {'Summer'}, SeasonStartDate = {"$(=(SeasonStartDate))"}, SeasonCloseDate = {"$(=(SeasonCloseDate))"}>}amount)

Sum({$<Year={"$(=max(Year))"},SeasonType = {'Summer'}, OrderDate={">=$(=min(SeasonStartDate)) <=$(=min(SeasonCloseDate))"}>}amount)

(not sure if we can we even compare OrderDate field directly to the SeasonStartDate ? as in the above expression?)

I have tried some other set expressions too  but in vain.

Hope my explanation is clear. Any ideas please?

tx

Sunny

1 Reply
oknotsen
Master III
Master III

Try removing the quotes around the $(=max(Year)). You should not need those.