Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Modifying tables in script

Hi all,

First of all, I am relatively new to QlikView and trying to learn and improve. I'm trying to load data which contains 1 table as following:

Abbr.     Person

----------------------------

LC        Luc Cornet

PK        Patrick Krishoan

...          ....

As you can see, this table contains the abbreviations and the full name.

I also have another table which is called "Employee" as follows:

EmpID   FirstName   LastName

-----------------------------------------------

1            Luc               Cornet

2            Patrick          Krishoan

The context is as following. People who are defined in the first table are sales-persons. They are also defined in the other table which is the Employee table. I need to be able to filter out only sales persons and I need to have an easy way to handle sales persons only. At the same time, I'd like to go for a solid solution. I've been thinking about having a new field in the Employee table which is "salesAbbreviation". When an employee has an abbreviation, we know that he is a sales person. This solution seems to be good enough. However, if every employee starts to get an abbreviation, then this is not enough anymore. In that case, I guess that we'd need another field "isSalesPerson" which is YES/NO. By doing set-analysis, I could filter out only sales persons.

Does this make sense? How should this be done, what's the best approach ? Any small code snippets are welcome as well.

Thanks for your help.

KRs

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sunny_talwar

2)For list box object, try this expression:

Aggr(Only({1<Abbr = {'*'}>} Person), Person)

1) Try this without the EmpID

EmpID & '|' & [First Name] & ' ' & [Last Name] as Person,

View solution in original post

5 Replies
sunny_talwar

You can do something like this:

Table1:

LOAD Abbr.

Person