Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ethanch
Contributor II
Contributor II

Neseted aggregation

Hi all, 

I am having trouble working with aggregation, please help me out here.

What I want to achieve: sum(if([Reporting Year]=(CurrentYear) and Month=max(Month) ,Numerator))

I want the sum of Numerator in the newest month. And =CurrentYear which is a custom field to set the year.

I tried sum(if([Reporting Year]=(CurrentYear) and Month=Aggr(max(Month),[Reporting Year],Measure) ,Numerator)), but it is giving me unstable performance. 

I am very new with Aggr(), I am not sure if I am doing it right. 

Any input and advise is appreciated. 

Labels (3)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
cengizeralp
Contributor III
Contributor III

Hi Ethanch,

If you define below variables from the front end, please check if there is an equal sign in front of them.

If there isn't, could you try again Peter's and Marcus' offers after adding  equal sign in front of the variables expressions.

vCurrentYear     = Max(Year(TransDate))  

vMaxMonth        = Max(Month)

View solution in original post

8 Replies
petter
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

I think you could do this:

Sum( {<[Reporting Year]={$(=Year(Today()))},Month={'$(=Max(Month)')}>} Numerator )

You could also set the CurrentYear in a variable and use that instead of Today():

vCurrentYear = Max(Year(TransDate))  

vMaxMonth = Max(Month)

Sum( {<[Reporting Year]={$(vCurrentYear)},Month={'$(vMaxMonth)'}>} Numerator )

ethanch
Contributor II
Contributor II
Author

thanks for your response, but I am got 0 from 

Sum( {$<[Reporting Year]={'$(vCurrentYear)'},Month={'$(vMaxMonth)'}>} Numerator )

The Correct result should be 7. 

I used 

Sum( {$<[Reporting Year]={'=$(vCurrentYear)'},Month={'=$(vMaxMonth)'}>} Numerator )

but that is equal sum({$}Numerator).

marcus_sommer

If your field Month is created from a date-field and has values like 'Jan', 'Feb', ... then would the call of:

Max(Month)