Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Set analysis filter in AGGR function not working

Greetings, Qlikview gurus!

I'm new to Qlikview and having a hard time figuring out something that is maddeningly easy in SQL Server syntax.

I have a data set where I am calculating sales totals.This expression gives me the exact grand totals I expect -

=SUM(Aggr(SUM(DISTINCT [Sales Amt]),Day, [Sales Rep Type], [Sales Rep ID], [Cust Acct Num]))

So far, so good.  Incidentally, I have to use the DISTINCT clause there to compress duplicate records out of the data set.

Now, I need the report to actually show totals excluding "house accounts" (ie, sales rep ID > "0").  I've tried various methods of set analysis to get there and none of them have worked.  My totals keep coming back as 0.  Here's an example of one way that I laid out the syntax -

=SUM(Aggr(SUM({$<[Sales Rep ID]={">0"}>} DISTINCT [SalesAmt]),Day, [Sales Rep Type], [Sales Rep ID], [Cust Acct Num]))

That's just one example.  I've tried the set analysis snippet just about everywhere possible in the expression, always getting zeros back.

By the way, the sales rep ID field is text, not a number.  And yes, I'm sure that other reps besides the "house account" had sales. 

What am I doing wrong?  Thanks in advance!

Joel

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
swuehl
MVP
MVP

Some samples of field values you want to exclude and include might help to understand better what you may need  here.

I guess your issue is indeed that you are coping with text values and thus a numeric search won't work well.

If you want to exclude the text value '0' and keep all other values, maybe something like

=SUM(Aggr(SUM({$<[Sales Rep ID] -={'0'}>} DISTINCT [SalesAmt]),Day, [Sales Rep Type], [Sales Rep ID], [Cust Acct Num]))

or

=SUM(Aggr(SUM({$<[Sales Rep ID]={"*"} - {'0'}>} DISTINCT [SalesAmt]),Day, [Sales Rep Type], [Sales Rep ID], [Cust Acct Num]))

might work. See also