Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Beginner
Contributor III
Contributor III

Two dimensions, side by side, filtered

Hi,

I am new to Qlik Sense and I have no previous coding background whatsoever.

I would like to create a bar stacked bar chart of Client A - 2017 that includes the sum  of (Stream 1 , Stream 2 , Stream 3) in direct comparison to Client A - 2018 the sum of (Stream 1, Stream 2, Stream 3). I have a list of 30 clients so I would like to apply the Filter Pane to only show one client at a time, so the chart should only be side by side comparison of Client A for both years. 

Currently the layout of the data that I inputted into Qlik looks like the attached and I would like it to look like the other attached.

How can I have two dimensions compared side by side, using the same field but filtered by year? And then using the filter pane to only see one client at a time?

Thanks!

9 Replies
Colin-Albert

You can do this using a bar chart with one dimension for Client and two expressions, one expression for 2017 sales, the other expression for 2018 sales.

The expression would use a set expression to select the year. something like

expression1        sum({<Year={2017} >} [Stream 1] + [Stream 2] + [Stream 3])

expression2       sum({<Year={2018} >}  [Stream 1] + [Stream 2] + [Stream 3])

or you could use    a formula so the year is not hardcoded. 

expression1        sum({<Year={$(=max(Year)-1)} >} [Stream 1] + [Stream 2] + [Stream 3])

expression2        sum({<Year={$(=max(Year))} >}  [Stream 1] + [Stream 2] + [Stream 3])

You would need to replace the "year" field and the other fields with your actual field names.

Beginner
Contributor III
Contributor III
Author

Hi Colin,

Thanks for the help. Can I ask, for the dimension I will open the expression editor and in put the attached?

The Stream field names are in green as these are replicas of my actual field names.

It still says invalid dimension? Is there anything else I need to do?