Skip to main content
Announcements
SYSTEM MAINTENANCE: Thurs., Sept. 19, 1 AM ET, Platform will be unavailable for approx. 60 minutes.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
datanibbler
Champion
Champion

VB script needed for local execution - plz help

Hi,

I have an app where it would be very practical indeed if one could just push a  button and the contents of a table_chart in the app were automatically exported to Excel and saved in a specific location under a specific name including the current date. Such a VB script would not work on the server of course, but it would be practical and save some time for local execution.

I have no experience with writing VB scripts, but I have worked with VBA and some tool-specific languages which are quite similar, so when I see some VB I can just about understand what it does. Writing in VB is a different matter, however ...

I have already constructed some single-object-URLs for that app so the adressee who needs the data daily can view it in his browser and extract it to Excel from the Browser - but if there was a button in the app itself, even if that would probably work only in the Client, that would  be faster still - and I'm always interested in learning something new.

I'm sure there are already some threads on this issue and maybe a document to show how it is done - if there is, I'm quite willing to read some How-To or so, but not necessarily read an entire discussion and piece it together ... can somebody maybe point me at something suitable?

Thanks a lot!

Best regards,

DataNibbler

5 Replies
datanibbler
Champion
Champion
Author

Hi,

I am still on the lookout for something like that. The issue must have been around here quite a few times, so I guess there also is some snippet around that I could use, but I just don't know ...