Skip to main content
Announcements
See what Drew Clarke has to say about the Qlik Talend Cloud launch! READ THE BLOG
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

how to get last selected field value?

I am new to QlikView and I am trying to figure out how I might get the last selected field value from the field [Choices]. My original idea was to call getFieldSelections(Choices), then parse out the last value. However, this function sorts the values, thereby ruining my plan.

I have spent a long time searching, but no luck finding an answer. Your help is appreciated.

Message was edited by: Kevin Kientopp

8 Replies
Colin-Albert

Have you tried getfieldselections()

By last selected field do you mean the order that the user clicked on the fields in the listbox?

I am not sure that this selection order is available.

getfieldselections ( FieldName [, ValueSep [, MaxValues]])

Returns a string with the current selections in a field.ValueSepis the separator to be put between field values.

The default is ', '

Maxvalues is the maximum number of field values to be individually listed.

When a larger number of valuesis selected the format 'x of y values' will be used instead.

The default is 6.

Examples

getfieldselections ( Year )

getfieldselections ( Year, '; ' )

getfieldselections ( Year, '; ' , 10 )

Not applicable
Author

Sorry, "getSelectedFields(Changes)" should have been "getFieldSelections(Changes)" in the question. I have edited it to reflect this.

And yes, I would like to get the last selected field in a listbox.

Colin-Albert

You can get through last selected data set using set analysis to reference the $1 set. This is the equivalent of selecting Back. Not sure this helps.

I suppose the key question is how are you looking to use this last value once you have it?

Not applicable
Author