Updated By:

Troy_Raney

Created date:

Dec 12, 2022 8:04:34 AM

Environment

• Qlik Cloud
  • Qlik Sense Client Managed

Transcript

Hello and welcome to the December edition of Techspert Talks. I'm Troy Raney and I'll be your host for today's session. Today's presentation is Troubleshooting Authentication in Qlik Cloud with Damien Villaret. Damien, why don't you tell us a little bit about yourself?
Hi everyone. My name is Damien. I'm working at Qlik as a Principal Technical Support Engineer and my main focus is Qlik Sense Integration, API mashups and extensions, and Authentication. I've been working with Qlik since 2013.
Great. All right, today we're going to take a look at authentication; how that works with Qlik Cloud. We're going to talk about the different supported methods that are out there for setting up your custom Identity Provider. Damien is going to walk us through a demo of setting that up and talk about some best practices; and also look at how to troubleshoot some common issues that customers might run into. So Damien, for those of us who aren't that familiar; could you please walk us through what the authentication workflow looks like for Qlik Cloud?
Sure. They are mainly two types of workflows that we use in Qlik Cloud; and the first one is the one that is using the User Info endpoint.
Okay.
The basic workflow here is that the user will first access Qlik Cloud; Qlik Cloud will redirect the user to the Identity Provider, to the authorized endpoint; on that URL the user will authenticate by whatever method is set on the Identity Provider; and the Identity Provider will send the user back to Qlik Cloud at the Callback URL. So those steps all happen through the user browser through redirection.
Okay. So it all stays in the same session, same tab, bouncing the user back and forth a bit?
Yes. That's correct.
All right.