Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Conditional Number Formatting

A question from a newbie here.  I have a chart where I've parameterized the calculation for the value axis.  I let the user choose whether they want to view the frequency of an occurance, the hours lost or the dollar value of that time.  What I'd like to do is to set the number formatting based on that selection.  I believe this can be done right from the expression by using code like the following:

if(ChartMeasure = 'Dollars', num(sum(duration)*75/3600, '$#,##0.00'),

if(ChartMeasure = 'Frequency', num(count(ent_id), '#,##0'),

if(ChartMeasure = 'Hours', num(sum(duration)/3600, '#,##0.0 hrs'))

)

)

and then setting the expression number format settings to "expression default" in the number tab.  However, this doesn't seem to be working as I get the same generic formatting no matter what I select.  I know the if statement is being executed, though, as the numbers come out correct for the calculations.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

7 Replies
IAMDV
Luminary Alumni
Luminary Alumni

Hi Tim,

Good morning.

Is the formatting set to expression default instead ofInteger or other format type? Please can you upload your QV document withscrambled or sample data? I can work out this for you...

Hope this helps!

Cheers - DV

Not applicable
Author

Sure thing.  Thanks for the help!

Not applicable
Author

Sorry to pester, but were you (or anyone else) able to take a look at the document? 

Thanks again!

johnw
Champion III
Champion III