Skip to main content
Announcements
Live today at 11 AM ET. Get your questions about Qlik Connect answered, or just listen in. SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How do I order months in a bar chart chronologically in QlikSense?

Hello,

How can I order months chronologically in a QlikSense bar chart?  I have loaded my data using the month() funcion, so the month names should be in QlikSense's format.  None of the sorting options seems to work.

I am new to QlikSense so my apologies if this is an obvious question!

Thanks,

Erin

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JonnyPoole
Employee
Employee

HI Eric

date# is actually an interpretation function rather than a display function.

if your source data was in YYYY-MMM format you can ensure QLik reads as a date by using :

date#(datefield,'YYYY-MMM') 

but this would display with default date format.

To control the output/display , wrap it with date() with the desired format

date(date#(datefield,'YYYY-MMM'),'MMM-YYYY') 

in your case you may not even need date# depending if qlik is interpreting the field as a date or not.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
jonathandienst
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

Month() produces a dual value in the range 1 (Jan) - 12 (Dec), so the months should sort numerically, as long as the range does not span over a year end.

Logic will get you from a to b. Imagination will take you everywhere. - A Einstein
JonnyPoole
Employee
Employee

On the right side did you drag the Month field to be the first (top) of the list ?

Untitled.png

Not applicable
Author

By default, when you create a Bar Chart, it is sorted by the expression / measure value, creating a top-down order.

On the other hand, a Line Chart is sorted by the dimension if it contains a number (like this case, being months).

month order.JPG