Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cary
Partner - Contributor II
Partner - Contributor II

Joining Multiple Date Fields onto a Master calendar, including date fields needing an interval match

Hello,

I am building out a data model, but struggling to get all the dates to connect appropriately. I have a master calendar generated into the model. I have two additional tables, one that has staff info, including their position start and end date, and one other table that has information about staff promotions, including the date of the promotion. I am able to connect the two tables by a commonID among the two.

I need to be able to count the number of staff for each year they have been at the organization. For example, if their start date was in 2019 and their end date was in 2022, if I perform a count on the front end, I need them to be accounted for in 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022. I was able to accomplish this by performing an IntervalMatch() on the start and end date from the staff table, and joining it on to a date string field in the master calendar.

Now is where I am getting the complication. I need to also be able to count the number of promotions for staff members in each given year. So, if they were promoted in 2020 and 2022, then their promotion needs to be reflected in the front end for 2020 and 2022. However, the issue I am having is joining the promotion date back onto the master calendar. Because I am already using an interval match on the other two dates from the first table and connecting that on to the master calendar, I am not sure how I can now bring in this additional promotion date from the third table onto the master calendar without creating a circular reference.