Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
poklegoguy
Contributor III
Contributor III

Making selections from tables doesn't work for all rows

I am very new to Qlik Sense and I'm still trying to understand how data connections work. I am trying to create a table that will list all the products that have no sales for more than 3 months and I used calculated dimension expression as below to find them:

IF(AGGR(MAX(date), ProductCode, ProductName) < ADDMONTHS(Today(),-3), ProductCode & ' / ' & ProductName)

I wanted to cross check the values with other tables, thus, I tried making selections directly from the table with the expression above to filter all the tables. I realized that some rows in the table can correctly identify the respective  product code and product name from the calculated dimension and some rows don't upon selecting them. For example, I clicked on  '1234/Product A' and Qlik Sense automatically made the selection: Product Code: 1234 and Product Name: Product A, however for '2333/Product B', the selections will not be made. Can anyone explain what is causing this to happen? 

Labels (1)
1 Reply
marcus_sommer

Your data and/or data-model might not suitable for the wanted views. Very important is the understanding that NULL isn't stored in any way and couldn't be accessed/selected - at least not directly. This means if there are any records it could be quite difficult to impossible to show within charts that there are no data. Before struggling in the UI to enforce the match of calculated dimensions from a dimension-table with the not existing fact-records it's often more expedient to populate the missing facts.