Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
carloswilly
Contributor II
Contributor II

Qlik Sense Date Format Issue_ORACLE

Hello Community,

Happy New Year!. I am new to qlik development and ran into a strange issue. I have researched on the internet but unfortunately cannot make it work.  If you get a chance, please help.

I am trying to load data from Siebel/Oracle db into qlik.  When I try to load the data into qlik I am getting “Error: QVX_UNEXPECTED_END_OF_DATA: SQL##f - SqlState: 22007, ErrorCode: 0, ErrorMsg: [Oracle][ODBC]Invalid datetime format” error.

I commented out all the fields and figured out one date filed is causing the issue

Ran the query against the db using querying tool and it runs fine. Exported the data to a.csv file and was able to load in to qlik without issues.  I am not sure what’s going wrong with qlik. I really appreciate any help on this.

Thank you,

Carlos

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
stevedark
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi @carloswilly 

I'm surprised by the Oracle fieldname Formatted Time, as I wouldn't expect a space to be allowed. Have you changed the field name for the post?

With the cast, you don't want to cast to Date, rather cast to a string which can then be dealt with in Qlik code.

It doesn't matter what format you get back from Oracle as a string, as Qlik can fix it up in the preceding load. For example, if you have the format you show as being after the substr you can do this:

Date(Date#([Formatted Time], 'DD-MMM-YY'), 'DD/MM/YYYY') as [Formatted Time],

The Date# function turns a string into a number (or a Dual to be more precise) and then the Date function formats that number how you want to see it.

The substr function causes you code to work as it will do an implicit cast to string, as you are doing a string function on a date field.

Hope that makes sense?

Steve

View solution in original post

6 Replies
stevedark
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi @carloswilly