Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

REST Connection to Google Analytics

I use Qlik Sense for desktop. I have been trying to follow this video: Connecting to Google Analytics using Qlik REST Connector - YouTube to establish a connection between Qlik Sense and a GA account that handles one website. The connection establishes fine, although some differences between the video process and my process should be taken note of. Please note that I am quite new with this stuff so some of these might be insignificant. I just try to be as granular as possible as I don't know what makes a difference and what doesn't:

• In the video the API provides a "200 OK" response to the API creation request, I am only provided with a "200" response
  • I cannot use the default settings for authentication as they have changed from the video, I must instead press "Skip server certificate validation" and select the "Anonymous" option to get it to establish the connection

When this is done the connection is established, but the only data it provides is as is displayed in the screenshot provided.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.qliksenseissue.PNG

2 Replies
Demlet
Contributor III
Contributor III

Hi Theodore,

I followed that video as well, and couldn't get QlikSense to even recognize the returned JSON.

Additionally when you do return data effectively, it isn't in a very digestible format. For example it will be all in one column, and what you would expect to be a column header would just be a row.

Also the Google OAuth you set up will time out after 4ish hours, and you will need to accommodate for that in your script. I have seen users POST back to Google to refresh the token every 4 hours.