Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DataEngineer1978
Contributor
Contributor

Precise Set-up Instructions to convert XML to JSON in batches (200-1,000 xml files per batch)

Good Afternoon, I really need your help! I am running Talend Open Studio for Big Data version 6.4.1. I need to understand in detail how to properly set up a Talend Job to convert 1,000 xml files at a time to JSON. I just need a good tutorial and I will be fine, but I haven't found one.

Thanks for the help!

Labels (4)
6 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello

As a newbie, I would suggest you read the component documentation and learn these components:

tFileList, tFileInputXML, tFileOutputJson, tWriteJsonFields.

If you want to convert each XML file to one Json file, the job design looks like:

tFileList--iterate--tFileInputXML--main--tFileOutputJson

or

tFileList--iterate--tFileInputXML--main--tWriteJsonFields--main--tFileOutputDelimited

Regards

Shong

DataEngineer1978
Contributor
Contributor
Author

thanks - but I want to combine 200 xml files into one JSON file? To me that answer is a cop out - because the documentation isn't that good...which is why I'm asking specifically....

DataEngineer1978
Contributor
Contributor
Author

The Talend documentation does not explain anything. PackT publishing has a better users manual than you all put out.

DataEngineer1978
Contributor
Contributor
Author

When I ran this job I got the following errors:

DataEngineer1978
Contributor
Contributor
Author

How do I fix those errors?

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi

The component documentation explains the basic properties an usage of the component, it can't cover all the user cases in one chapter.