Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing a new Enhanced File Management feature in Qlik Cloud! GET THE DETAILS!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

tMap with Dynamic schema

Hi, 

I am pretty new to the talend tool. I am attempting to use talend tMap component to map data from two sources. However I also require the schemas to be dynamic as this is to be done for numerous tables or files therefore we want to escape having to define schema for each and using that in a tMap. What I've come across is that the output for this job is different when running a job within talend studio and eclipse. It's pretty strange as to why this is the case since I exported the exact same code(job) and built it in eclipse IDE. If anybody has ever had to use dynamic schemas together with tMap, I'd like some pointers as to how this can be achieved or possibly point out what I could be doing incorrectly. 

Labels (3)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
med1
Creator
Creator

Hello,

So as i explained in my last post, you can insert the data from table into tmp file.

After that you can use tJavarow to parse the both objects ( Dynamic schema is like java object).

Here is the code to parse the dynamic File :

Dynamic columns = row3.dynamic;

for (int i = 0; i < columns.getColumnCount(); i++) {  
    DynamicMetadata columnMetadata = columns.getColumnMetadata(i);  
    System.out.println(columnMetadata.getName() + ": " +
columns.getColumnValue(i) + "; " + columnMetadata.getType());
}

There is an example in Talend Documentation, which explain how to handle the Dynamic schema :

https://help.talend.com/reader/KxVIhxtXBBFymmkkWJ~O4Q/WX1guuvSnxZg5nBBQ26LBQ

Good luck

View solution in original post

13 Replies
med1
Creator
Creator

Hello,

Could you please elaborate your cases ? I used dynamic schema and to handle the this schema i used the tjavarow.

brama
Contributor III
Contributor III

Hi,