Skip to main content
Announcements
Introducing Qlik Answers: A plug-and-play, Generative AI powered RAG solution. READ ALL ABOUT IT!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
David_Underdown
Contributor
Contributor

tXMLMap and multiple loops

I'm quite new to Talend and particularly to tXMLMap.

I'm currently working on a job that needs to produce XML output with multiple loops. From the tXMLMap documentation I thought I would be able to use tXMLMap with multiple (optional) loops and explicit groups. However, I don't seem to be getting the option to set nodes for grouping at all.

I'm starting with CSV input and some intermediate processing steps before getting to the tXMLMap

What I need to end up with (slightly simplified here as there are a lot of fields in the full XML) is

• BIA (root)
    • InformationAsset
      • IAID
      • ClosureType
      • ReplicaIdentities
        • ReplicaID
    • AccessRegulation
      • RelatedToIA
      • ClosureCriterions
        • ExemptionCodeId
    • Replica
      • Id
      • RelatedToIA
      • Folios
        • Folio
        • DigitalFiles
          • DigitalFile
            • DigitalFileDirectory @ completePath
              • Folder
                • Label
                • ID
                • ParentID

For each row of incoming data there will always need to be an InformationAsset node created but then depending on the ClosureType there will either be an AccessRegulation node or a Replica node (but never both).

If there is an AccessRegulation node there will be at least one, and possibly several, ExemptionCodeId nodes, and there will be an incoming row for each required ExemptionCodeId, all other data in those rows would be the same. In particular the RelatedToIA in the AccessRegulation node would match the IAID node in the InformationAsset node